The U.P. Vanguard: Roll Call

up-vanguard-sealIn my freshman year of the University of the Philippines (U.P.), I joined the Reserve Officers’ Training Course (ROTC) and subsequently the U.P. Vanguard Fraternity for cadet officers. And from day one of training, these words have been ingrained into us:






With those three words, many of the U.P. Vanguards have strove to reach the peaks of their chosen fields, and change the course of Philippine history. Many are hailed as heroes, while others are greatly questioned, and even reviled. Yet, one cannot deny what the graduates of U.P. ROTC and the members U.P. Vanguard has contributed to our country. And with that legacy, here are just some of the many U.P. ROTC graduates who have achieved prominence in their fields:


Pres. Manuel Acuña Roxas (1892-1948)

5th President of the Republic of the Philippines

Class of 1913


Gen. Carlos Peña Rómulo  (1899-1985)

U.P. President, National Artist, and United Nations General Assembly President

Class of 1918


Gen. Alfredo Manapat Santos (1905-1990)

Armed Forces of the Philippines Chief-of-Staff

Class of 1929


Justice Antonio Rivera Quirino (1917-1992)

Founder ABS-CBN Television Station

Class of 1930


Gen. Rigoberto Joaquin Atienza (1911-1966)

Armed Forces of the Philippines Chief-of-Staff

Class of 1933


Justice Fred Ruiz Castro (1914-1979)

Chief Judge Advocate General of the Armed Forces of the Philippines, Presidential Executive Secretary, and Supreme Court Chief Justice

Class of 1934


Dr. Jesus C. Azurin (1916-1990)

World War 2 Veteran, Director of the Philippine Bureau of Quarantine, Secretary of the Ministry of Health

Class of 1936


General Flaviano Ponce Olivares (1911-1997)

World War II Veteran, Commanding General of the Philippine Constabulary

Class of 1936


Datu Salipada Khalid Pendatun (1912-1965)

General, Cotobato Governor and Senator

Class of 1936


Gen. Romeo C. Espino (1914-2003)

Armed Forces of the Philippines Chief-of-Staff

Class of 1937


Ferdinand Emmanuel Edralin Marcos, Sr. (1917-1989)

10th President of the Republic of the Philippines

Class of 1937


B.General Guillermo S. Santos (1915-1991)

Judge Advocate General, Undersecretary of Justice, Executive Judge in the Court of Agrarian Reform and Chairman of the Agricultural Tenancy Commission

Class of 1937


Dr. Quintin Juan Gomez (1919 -2003)

Father of Philippine Anesthesiology, Father of Philippine Ophthalmology



Senator Evangelina Reynada Estrada (1920-2017)

Two-term Senator, First President of the Jayceerettes Organization, Founder and National Chairman of the Samahang Filipino, Director of the League of Women Voters and the Chamber of Home Industries of the Philippines

Lady Vanguard, UP ROTC Corps Sponsor, Class of 1939


Col. Rafael R. Estrada (1917-2016)

World War II Veteran, Founder of the Defenders of Bataan and Corregidor

Class 1940


Gen. Fabian Crisologo Ver (1920-1998)

Armed Forces of the Philippines Chief-of-Staff

Class of 1941


Gen. Rafael Manio Ileto (1920-2003)

Secretary of the Department of National Defense (DND)

Class of 1942 (left 1938)


Enrique M. Belo (1922-2004)

Congressman, Delegate to the 1971 Philippine Constitutional Convention, President of the Philippine Bar Association

Class of 1946


B.General Bienvenido R. Castro (1924-2007)

President of the Peftok Veterans Association, Inc. (PVAI), 1st Vice president of the International Federation of Korean War Veterans Associations (IFKWA)

Class of 1949

Mamintal A. J. Tamano (1928-1994)

Senator 1969-1972 and 1987-1992

Class of 1950


Catalino Tiacho Macaraig, Jr. (1927-2003)

Presidential Executive Secretary, Director of the Bureau of Prisons, Chairman of the Board of Pardons and Paroles, Chairman of the Appeals Committee for Motion Pictures, and Chairman of the Interim Board of Censors for Motion Pictures, Deputy Minister of Justice

Class of 1952


Eng. Ernesto F. Sanvictores (1930)

President of Aras Aran Tomber Company

Class of 1952


Ismael A. Mel Mathay Jr. (1932-2013)

Mayor of Quezon City, Congressman, Director of the Metropolitan Waterworks and Sewerage System (MWSS)

Class of 1953


Teodorico V. Baldonado (1934-2010)

Chief Operating Officer, RFM Corp., Sta. Monica Food Corporation and Metro Pacific Corp., Masonic Grand Master

Class of 1954


Col. Antonio R. Buenaventura (1904-1996)

Educator and National Artist for Music

Class of 1955


Heherson “Sonny” T. Alvarez (1939)

Secretary of the Department of Environment and Natural Resources (DENR) and the Department of Agrarian Reform (DAR), and Senator

Class of 1956


LuisLouieDiaz Beltran (1936-1994)


Class of 1956


B.General Ruperto A. Ambil Jr. (1941-2012)

Commandant 1982-83, Commander of the Armed Forces of the Philippines Visayas Command (VISCOM), Commander of the Southern Command, Eastern Samar Governor

Class 1959


Emil Quinto Javier (1940)

U.P. President 1993-1999. Chair of the National Science Development Board

Class of 1960


Domingo F. Panganiban (1939)

Secretary of the Department of Agriculture (DAR), Chairman of the National Anti-Poverty Commission, Consultant Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO) of the United Nations (UN)

Class of 1961


Horacio “Boy” R. Morales, Jr. (1943-2012)

Secretary of the Department of Agrarian Reform (DAR), Executive Vice-president of the Development Academy of the Philippines, 1977 Ten Outstanding Young Men

Class of 1963


B.General Eliseo Mihares Rio Jr.(1944)

Department of Information and Communications Technology (DICT) and Commissioner of the National Telecommunications Commission (NTC)

Class of 1966


Gen. Jaime de los Santos (1946)

Commanding General Philippine Army

Class of 1966


Col. Vicente VicSumajit Santos, Jr. (1944-2012)

Assistant Chief of Staff for Civil Military Operations, G-7, Writer

Class of 1966


Congressman Salvador Hatoc Escudero III (1942-2012)

Secretary of the Department of Agriculture, Director of Bureau of Animal Industry

Class of 1968


Miriam Palma Defensor Santiago (1945-2016)

Judge, Immigration Commissioner, Agrarian Reform Secretary, and Senator

Lady Vanguard, UP ROTC Corps Sponsor 1969

Manuel “Manny” Bamba Villar Jr. (1949)

Senator and Businessman

Class of 1970


Jesus Antonio Matamorosa Carpio Jr. (1931-2010)

Attorney, Director, National Bureau of Investigation (NBI)

Class of 1978



The Chosen Few


By Vgd Leonardo Quinitio


A heritage, a dream alive

The few the strong, those who survive

A crusade all glorious!

Amidst all strife, victorious!


The few, the few, the Chosen Few

Who lead, who serve the banner true

The UP Vanguards old and new

Are the few, the few the Chosen Few


A call to arms, a battle cry

Oh heed its words don’t let it by

Fall in ranks for we are strong

To the Chosen Few we all belong


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s